Specials Trip Finder Brochures Menu

Malawi Geography and Maps

One of the smallest countries in the region, Malawi has an area of 118,000 sq km (46,000 sq mi). One-fifth of this area is occupied by Lake Malawi, one of the deepest lakes in the world.  It shares borders with Tanzania in the north, Mozambique in the east and the south, and Zambia in the west.  Due to its long shape, the geography of Malawi can be divided into three regions: South Malawi, Central Malawi and North Malawi.

South Malawi is the most populated part of the country. It’s home to the commercial capital, Blantyre, and the old colonial capital, Zomba. In addition to hosting five national parks and wildlife reserves, this region lays claim to Malawi’s highest peak: Sapitwa. It reaches 3,000 m (9,840 ft) in height and is part of Mount Mulanje.

While the commercial and old colonial capitals are located in South Malawi, the nation’s official capital city, Lilongwe is situated. A large portion of this region lies on the Central African Plateau. North Malawi is the least populated of the three regions. Geographically, it is the highest region with highland areas and one national park and one wildlife reserve.



Get a Trip Quote Order a Brochure
Trip Finder

What our travelers say

Goway Toolkit

Need help planning your holiday? Our toolkit is a great place to get started.