Specials Trip Finder Brochures Menu

Cuba - Geography and Maps

Cuba is an archipelago of islands situated in the Caribbean Sea.  With an area of 109,884 square kilometres (42,426 square miles), Cuba is the largest island and country in the Caribbean.  It is the seventeenth largest island in the world.  It is located to the west of the North Atlantic Ocean, to the east of the Gulf of Mexico, south of the Straits of Florida and northeast of the Yucatan Channel.  As well as the main island, Cuba is made up of a further 4,000 islands and islets with Isla de la Juventud (the largest outside the main island) and Cayo Largo del Sur as the principal islands.

A quarter of the country is mountainous with the interior hosting three different mountain ranges.  In the west is the Cordillera de Guaniguanico, the central range is Sierra del Escambray and finally, the Sierra Maestra which hosts the country’s highest peak, Pico Turquino at 1,974 m (6,476 ft).  A diverse country, Cuba provides a variety of landscapes including rivers, forests, sugar cane and tobacco plantations and more.  Cuba’s northern coast features white sand beaches.  Conversely, Cuba’s southern coast features black sand beaches.


Get a Trip Quote Order a Brochure
Trip Finder

What our travelers say

Goway Toolkit

Need help planning your holiday? Our toolkit is a great place to get started.